A 75-year outdated Knicks’ streak might be damaged this night


Frank Ntilikina was a Knick between 2018 and 2021.

Frank Ntilikina used to be a Knick between 2018 and 2021.
Symbol: Getty Pictures

2021 noticed the tip of one of the vital well-known Finals streaks of all-time. Thirty-seven consecutive NBA Finals between 1984 and 2020 noticed a minimum of one teammate of Shaquille O’Neal’s on one of the crucial competing rosters. No person on closing 12 months’s Suns or Dollars rosters had ever performed with O’Neal throughout his occupation. “All streaks come to an finish,” stated O’Neal when requested whether or not or now not he used to be disenchanted when he heard that the streak have been damaged. He’s were given some extent, however that doesn’t imply streaks aren’t nonetheless very a laugh for the lovers. Whether or not it used to be the Curse of the Bambino, which got here to an lead to 2004, or the Chicago Cubs curse that snapped when they received the 2016 Global Sequence, the tales round those streaks give lovers simply every other nice storyline to be careful for annually.

With Recreation 5 of the Warriors-Mavericks sequence taking place this night, we’re in peril of seeing every other NBA streak come to an finish, person who has been occurring for two times so long as the Shaq streak. In reality, this streak has been occurring for the reason that inception of the NBA, and virtually no person is aware of about it.

The New York Knicks haven’t been to the NBA Finals since 1999 and haven’t received a identify since 1973, however since 1947 a minimum of one former Knicks participant has seemed in each and every Finals, excluding one (I’ll get to that during a 2nd). In 2021, it used to be Langston Galloway for Phoenix in addition to Thanasis Antetokounmpo and Bobby Portis for the Dollars. In 2020, it used to be J.R. Smith for the Lakers. Jeremy Lin in 2019, Smith once more in 2018, Matt Barnes, Channing Frye, David Lee, yadda yadda yadda, all of the as far back as the Philadelphia Warriors’ Ralph Kaplowitz in 1947 (performed for the Knicks previous in that 1946-47 season). The one 12 months that will get skipped is 1981. It’s a catch 22 situation whether or not or now not this 12 months must be regarded as.

Two contributors of the Boston Celtics — Gerald Henderson and Eric Fernsten — would finally end up turning into Knicks later of their careers (Fernsten in 1983; Henderson in 1986), however no one in that sequence had performed for the Knicks prior. Boston’s Nathaniel “Tiny” Archibald and Houston’s Billy Paultz had each performed for the New York Nets of their careers prior, however that’s as shut as this will get. So, I assume technically the streak results in 1981, however many defenders of the streak declare that it’s nonetheless on as a result of Fernsten and Henderson each become Knicks later of their careers. In my opinion, I believe it is a cop out.

Although Dallas loses this night, possibly Luka Dončić turns into a Knick later in his occupation. We will’t rely that out. So, individually, I imagine the streak began in 1982, which makes this a 39-year stretch of former Knicks within the Finals (and 0 Knicks’ championships), which continues to be longer than the Shaq streak ever used to be. For those who nonetheless need to believe this a 75-year streak, energy to you. Who am I to reign on what little solace a Knicks fan can take at the moment?

Of the four teams left standing this year, only Dallas has a former Knick on their squad, Frank Ntilikina. Ntilikina was a Knick between 2018 and 2021. The Mavericks are looking to become the first team ever to overcome a 3-0 series deficit. They took Game 4, but now have to steal Game 5 in the Bay Area in order to stay alive. Will they do it? Probably not, but for the sake of drama in a blowout-filled postseason and the streak, I kind of hope they do.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here